Book Club Member/Visitor Introduction Thread

Welcome to the discussion forums for the Failure to Disrupt virtual book club. While you are here, you can ask questions for the author, Justin Reich, and engage in discussion with other book club members and visitors about the book. Please click “Reply” to introduce yourself below, and share who you are and your interests in education technology, online learning, and learning at scale.

When you are finished, head over to the Prologue and Introduction Thread to join the substantive discussion of the first sections!

3 Likes

Welcome everyone! I’m Justin Reich and I’m the author of Failure to Disrupt: Why Technology Alone Can’t Transform Education. I’m a professor at MIT, and I run the MIT Teaching Systems Lab, where we aspire to design, implement and research the future of teacher learning. I also host the TeachLab podcast where we’ll be discuss the book, education technology, and online learning this fall .

In my past, I’ve taught wilderness medicine, lifeguarding, and high school history. I was the first full time researcher at HarvardX, a fellow at the Berkman-Klein Center for Internet and Society, and I co founded a school consultancy called EdTechTeacher.

These are incredibly challenging times for colleges and universities, and I’m excite to talk with everyone about how we should understand the role of education and online learning over the last few decades, and in this new moment.

5 Likes

Hi everyone! My name is Laura Larke and I’m a Postdoctoral Associate and Teaching Fellow in the MIT Teaching Systems Lab, as well as a 2020-2021 Affiliate of the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard. I co-teach CMS.595/.895 Learning, Media, & Technology Seminar with Justin and Chris, and will be at the Book Club each week.