Chapter 3: Peer-Guided Learning at Scale

What were your biggest takeaways from the third of the Three Genres of Learning at Scale in Part 1? Do you have any experience with Networked Learning Communities? Which ones and how do they align or differ from the research presented?

I found this chapter very interesting as I have some experience with SCRATCH and with creating networked learning communities.

Though the book mainly discusses Khan Academy’s math exercises, Khan Academy also has a coding platform (for ProcessingJS, HTML, and SQL). When the coding platform was first launched many years ago, it only enabled peer-guided learning. Ambitious learners could check out other learner’s programs, ask them questions, and read the documentation. Some of them made amazing programs with just that level of support. However, for many folks that were completely new to text-based coding, a blank editor was incredibly intimidating. So we developed courses to teach programming. The courses give students more structured ways of checking their knowledge (via peer-evaluated projects and auto-graded challenges which allow for creativity thanks to wildcards in the graders), but learners can also leave at any time and be peer-led, whatever works for them. When we added courses, we saw significantly more learning time overall happening in programming.