Chapter 4: Learning Games and Hybridity

In Chapter 4, FTD discusses how Learning Games are a useful site for testing the three genres of learning at scale. What learning games have you played in your life, and to what extent do the three genres help you classify them? What’s your view of how learning transfers from games to other kinds of environments? What other themes in the chapter did you find compelling or problematic.

I have been working for 10+ years on research related to game-based assessment, looking at the potential of games to be sources of evidence from which we could make inferences about what learners know and can do. I can say fairly confidently now that we know how to make a valid, reliable, and engaging game-based assessment. What we don’t know is how to do this at a cost or in a time frame that fits with the cost and time that is reasonable for commercial success.

I have been involved in a number of large scale efforts to build game-based assessments. Most have taken at least eight months of work, relatively large teams of people, and therefore sizable budget. Ultimately, for all the money and time spent, most covered a week or two of curriculum time. Commercial publishers spend that amount of time and money creating a whole grade level curriculum.

In addition, school districts are not particularly savvy about game buying. They do not know how to parse a good game from a poor one. They are generally not buying games as stand-alone products, but embedded in curricula, where it is more a check box next to “has games” than a careful analysis of the games themselves. So, at this point, we have good examples of games generally funded by grant dollars which are being used by individual teachers (sometimes lots of them) but have not been able to break into being classroom staples.